2010 State Team

Western Australia 1 Perth Glory 3

Status: Friendly, Call to Arms Cup
Date: 28 July 2010
Venue: Litis Stadium, Perth, Western Australia
Western Australia: Cyril Sharrock (Phil Straker 69), Danny Cain (Johnny Mirco 59), Jason Gavin, Bobby Wilson, Shane Nunes, David Micevski (James Robinson 69), Antonio Naglieri (Andreas Oliveira 59), Adrian Webster, Shane Robinson, Andy Brown, Branimir Mikulic
Perth Glory: Aleks Vrteski (Tando Velaphi 46), Josh Mitchell (Brent Griffiths 69), Jamie Coyne, Jamie Harnwell (Michael Baird 46), Scott Neville, Steven McGarry, Adriano Pellegrino (Howard Fondyke 62), Naum Sekulovski (Todd Howarth 46), Josh Risdon, Robbie Fowler (Andrija Jukic 46), Mile Sterjovski (Reece Vittiglia 77)
Dismissals: None
Referee: Mathew Cheeseman

Perth Glory scored twice in second half stoppage time to grab a 3-1 win over Western Australia in this evening's 'Call to Arms Cup' at Litis Stadium. It looked as though the State team had earned themselves a draw when Andreas Oliviera struck midway through the second half, cancelling out Mile Sterjovski's goal shortly before half-time. However, late finishes by Reece Vittiglia and Scott Neville saw Glory pick up the win in front of a bumper crowd of 3,121.

The first shot was fired in anger after 2 minutes when Adrian Webster forced a good save from Aleks Vrteski after meeting a David Micevski cross. Glory returned fire four minutes later via a quick Robbie Fowler free-kick through to Sterjovski who flashed wide. Moments later Fowler's attempted lob over Sharrock from the edge of the 18-yard box was captured by the State 'keeper. Sharrock was again called into action, saving a low low-range effort by Adriano Pellegrino as Glory began to get on top of a good paced contest.

Glory should have hit the front on the half hour when Steven McGarry played down the left to Sterjovski whose cross to far post was headed wide by Fowler at close-range. A strong run by Josh Risdon lead to him crossing for Sterjovski but his shot from 6-metres was kept out by the busy Sharrock. The State team fashioned a few good chances late in the half, the first of which was lifted high by David Micevski, who then provided the ammunition for Branimir Mikulic to head wide. It looked as though the sides were go in level when Sterjovski headed in at close-range a cross from the right by Pellegrino.

There were wholesale changes made to Glory's line-up at the break with Tando Velaphi, Michael Baird, Andrija Jukic, and Todd Howarth all entering the game. Both teams went close upon the resumption of play, Jukic's first time effort forcing a low save from Sharrock before Velaphi kept out Mikulic's shot on the run. Jason Gavin was a pillar of strength in the centre of the State defence as Glory upped the tempo. Sharrock, too, produced some heroics when he showed great instincts to twice block shots from Sterjovski in quick succession on the hour.

A great through ball from State captain Andy Brown produced the equalising goal on 73 minutes, Oliveira racing clear of a square defence to net at the second opportunity after his initial shot had been blocked by Velaphi. Either team could have snuck the lead as the clock ticked down. Howarth burst down the left before delivering the ball to Baird, whose first time shot was superbly kept out by substitute 'keeper Phil Straker. An explosive Wilson free-kick from 18-metres deflected off the defensive wall but an alert Velaphi saved down low.

The game was turned on its head by a couple of very tidy stoppage time goals. 92 minutes had gone when 18-year old Risdon capped a superb performance by feeding Vittiglia who finished clinically past Straker from 11-metres. The result was put beyond doubt sixty seconds later with Neville latching onto a pass from midfield and giving the 'keeper no chance with a spectacular drive from 16-metres that found the top corner. State defender Gavin was rewarded for a solid contribution when presented the medal as the games' best on field.

Back to the www.footballwa.net State Team Index

This page was last updated on the 19th September 2010